3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Knocking/Tapping noise coming from transmission

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2013, 05:23 AM
XlPunishmentlX
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Knocking/Tapping noise coming from transmission

Hey everybody, I am new to Dodge Forum (and forums in general). I hope that I am posting in the right place and that I am not creating a redundant forum. Anyhow, I have a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 with a 4.7L V8 with about 134,000 miles on it. Recently (as in two days ago), I noticed a knocking/tapping noise coming from underneath the vehicle. It is only apparent when the vehicle is idling in Park but it may be present at other times as well, perhaps the engine is just drowning out the noise. Anyway, I crawled underneath the truck and used my automotive stethoscope to try to pinpoint where the noise was coming from and it is most easily heard when it is placed on the transmission. Thus I believe the noise is coming from the tranny itself but it may be coming from somewhere else in that general area. The sound seems to die down when the truck has reached normal operating temperature, but as I said before, it may still be there, just less noticeable. I haven't had time to let the vehicle reach full op temp and then crawl under with the stethoscope. The noise doesn't seem to increase with load being placed on the transmission, and it is quite rhythmical in that the sound doesn't increase or decrease in frequency whether it is under a load or not, which makes me think that it isn't being caused by something floating around in the tranny. The tranny operates perfectly, it shifts smoothly, does not make any abnormal noises when shifting, does not slip, and is not losing fluid (I am not losing any type of fluid whatsoever). The only thing it does is "