3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Front end clicking noise

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2013, 02:34 PM
CStrife99x
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front end clicking noise

For a while now, my front end been making "clicking" or "snapping" noises. I brought it to a few shops and no one knows what it is? One guy said the brake hardware or something( bushings and clamps) so my dad and i changed that. The noise stopped for about a day and its been there since. Its way worse now, annoying and embarrassing.

Ive been reading for a few weeks on it and got somewhat a few ideas.

1)wheel bearings (checked, no shaking)
2)tie rods
3)lower ball joints

( 2 & 3 im changing inner and outer tie rods, and ball joints, because they are wayyyy past due and loose)

Im no mechanic or anything so i dont know what to be looking for, and help appreciated.

Also its an 05 1500 2wd

Old 07-04-2013, 10:05 PM
Old man with a Hemi2
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by CStrife99x
For a while now, my front end been making "clicking" or "snapping" noises. I brought it to a few shops and no one knows what it is? One guy said the brake hardware or something( bushings and clamps) so my dad and i changed that. The noise stopped for about a day and its been there since. Its way worse now, annoying and embarrassing.

2)tie rods
3)lower ball joints

( 2 & 3 im changing inner and outer tie rods, and ball joints, because they are wayyyy past due and loose)

Im no mechanic or anything so i dont know what to be looking for, and help appreciated.

Also its an 05 1500 2wd

Have an 06 1500 with 110,000 miles and just replaced the drivers side wheel bearing. I had no shaking either but it was making a slight grinding sound as I turned to the right. Might be worth another look see