3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

06 1500 MEGA Cab Tranny problems....... HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2010, 06:33 AM
NewfieMegaCab06
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 06 1500 MEGA Cab Tranny problems....... HELP!!

Hi Guys and Gals....

I am a newbie to the site but not to Mopars..!!! I have a question about my 06 Ram MEGA CAB.
I have a problem with the tranny not shifting into gear properly. It takes about 7-8 sec to go into gear and when it does half the time it goes in to High gear in stead of low to start off causing 3 codes to come up

p0700- Trans Control Sys Malfunction
p0731- Gear 1 Ratio Incorrect
p0876- Trans Fluid Press Sensor/Switch D CKT Range/Perf

I have had it to my Dealer and they performed the trans maint. on it 14000km ago ( fluid/filter change ) and again when I started to have this problem and just got it back 2 days ago and guess what??? Its doing it again... The dealer Flashed the TCM and Computer Stating that the old software was the cause and this would fix it... During the road test the carrier bearing let go and caused the driveshaft to bind and pop the universal damaging the driveshaft( I had to buy a new one because I needed the truck back right away... So a $250 visit turned into a $1700 visit and now I am back where I started... The truck has 143k on it and I dearly Love it (except the Fuel consumption)...