4th Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 4th gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Newbie, Towing question

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2011, 01:45 PM
sdog
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Newbie, Towing question

New here, hi to everyone. My question is i have a 2010 2500 5.7L with 4:10 gears, it has a rated towing capacity of 10,600 lbs. I am looking at getting a new 32ft. travel trailer with a fully loaded weight of 9,900 lbs. Will i have problems towing this, is it too much for my truck. Occasionally i might make trips that are a couple hundered miles or more, even if i can tow it , i want it to be a comfortable tow not white knuckle the whole trip. Any answers are appreciated, and honesty would be great too, as i can look for a lighter trailer. Thanks

Old 04-16-2011, 08:03 PM
Truckerman
Rookie

As a professional truck driver I say no. It's to heavy you only going to have 700lbs for cargo and people. I see accidents all the time cause of improper towing. I say get something lighter just a bit lighter like 9,500 lbs. That will give you 1,100 lbs for cargo like bikes,dishes,food,people and all the gear you would need for a good camping trip. The most important thing to remember is to have a weight distributing hitch with sway control and electric brakes. Take your time when towing,allow your self more stoping distance. Hope this info helps you some.

Old 04-16-2011, 09:36 PM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Towing capacity is based on having ALL recommended accessories such as a weight distributing hitch, etc.

Even with that, you are almost at 100% capacity with nothing else loaded. Not to mention the thing is gonna get single digit fuel economy pulling it.