4th Gen Ram Tech 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Paint help

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2011 | 12:43 PM
2k10HemiRam
|
Captain
Default Paint help

Alright so I'm a complete amateur when it comes to painting and everything possible to go along with it. I was wondering if anyone with experience in that department could help me out a bit. I'm planning on painting the cross hairs of my grille flat black and I'm wondering what the suggested prep work should be to get a good quality look to it. Also what would be a good brand of primer/paint/clear to use.

I have three options when it comes to getting this done but the one I'm favoring the most right now is doing it myself with spray cans because I'm really starting to find more satisfaction from doing things myself lately. My other two options are a friend who has a spray gun and is fairly experienced in automotive painting and the other is finding a good paint shop and to repaint it.

Old 10-18-2011 | 01:27 PM
6t4gto

Let your friend do it and slip him a few bucks......... .JB.

Old 10-18-2011 | 03:25 PM
Mikeyyy816
Record Breaker

X2, Let your buddy do it and buy him a case of PBR and then you sit back and watch!

Old 10-18-2011 | 09:51 PM
CarGuyOhio
Admin formally known as 94rt10ohio

It is all about what you like, but I think it would be better as it sits now.

If you do go for it I also agree, if you are not experienced have a pro do it. Or practice on something else first.

Last edited by CarGuyOhio; 10-18-2011 at 10:00 PM.
Old 10-19-2011 | 03:01 AM
Shibby927
Record Breaker