Lost power to screan - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 4th Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page >

Lost power to screan

4th Gen Ram Tech 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Lost power to screan

  #1  
Old 12-13-2017, 01:54 AM
Will Seoane
Will Seoane is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Default Lost power to screan

I have a 2017 dodge ram 1500 slt o was swapping dexk and accidently grounded power wire. Now have blown fuse somewhere and cant fing it. Please help...
 
  #2  
Old 12-13-2017, 08:49 AM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 24,786
Default

ALWAYS disconnect the battery when working on electrical stuff.
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-2017, 11:24 AM
TNtech's Avatar
TNtech
TNtech is offline
Site Moderator-Dodge Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,700
Default

There is a separate fuse for radio. It's inline to the rear of the fuse box.... NOT in the fuse box
 
Attached Thumbnails Lost power to screan-radio-fuse-holder.png  

Last edited by TNtech; 12-13-2017 at 11:26 AM.
  #4  
Old 12-13-2017, 11:49 AM
Will Seoane
Will Seoane is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Default

I checked inline fuse.first thing i checked.
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-2017, 08:52 AM
SHO Rod
SHO Rod is online now
Captain
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Iowa
Posts: 572
Default

Do you know what color power wire you shorted to ground? Did you cut the wire between the inline fuse and the deck, then accidentally short the wire where it was cut? What is the value of the fuse currently in the inline fuse holder? Have you checked for power to both sides of the fuse to confirm whether or not the fuse is getting power?

-Rod
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-2017, 01:31 AM
TNtech's Avatar
TNtech
TNtech is offline
Site Moderator-Dodge Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,700
Default

You might have spiked the telematics module and put it to sleep. Pull the radio fuse out overnight see if a capacitor drain will wake it back up.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Lost power to screan


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: