Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

2000 Grand Caravan sitting for 6 months.

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2011, 10:26 AM
toymotorhead
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Grand Caravan sitting for 6 months.

So here is the short story. I am new to the Dodge forums. Here is why I am posting. This weekend I picked (towed) home a free 2000 Grand Caravan SE with 143,000 miles on it and bad brakes. It had sat for 6 months. So what I am really looking for is any advise on red flags to look for as I try to get it road worthy again.

Here is the long story:
It was from an extended family member, it was free, they bought it new, drove it until last fall when it started making grinding noises under braking, they took it to the dealer (as always) who told them it needed $1200 worth of brake work. They decided that they had had enough of the old van and wanted something newer, so they bought a new one, parked this one in the yard and were going to donate it. When the donation people blew them off, I got word of it and snatched it up. Especially since I am doing the new house new baby hemorrhaging cash thing, it seemed like a good idea since I really cant pick up a car payment right now, and car seats and Ford Focus' barely get along. It started right up, and drove onto the Uhauler, even not being started for 6 months, I did not have to jump it.

Replacing the brakes is no big deal, If the dealer says $1200 I should be able to do them for 1/3 of that. I will do an oil change, its whining like it needs power steering fluid, the ATF looks bright red and does not smell or taste burnt, so thats always a good sign. It sounds like I have a vacuum leak behind the heater control and it does not change settings. Its a bit rusty in spots. My goal is to try to get a year or two out of it. Any kisses of death I gotta worry about?