Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

[3rd Gen : 96-00]: 1999 Dodge Caravan Transmission oil leak and hesitates before going in gear

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2016, 12:30 PM
mikebike
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 Dodge Caravan Transmission oil leak and hesitates before going in gear

Hello All,
Newbie here. First post.
I have two separate problems that might be related to transmission.
The first issue:-
Has been happening for a while. The van drives fine but at times when I am taking off at a light from standstill, specially going uphill, the van will start shuddering a little bit and as I step on the gas slowly, it will go away and drive just fine.
The second issue:-
Last Saturday morning, went to start the van. Let it warm up for 5 minutes, then place the gear in reverse and nothing. It hesitated for a bit then push the gas pedal and little while later, the reverse catches on. Same thing when I put it in drive. Got the van out of the driveway finally and noticed red oil on the driveway. Engine light came on. Check transmission fluid and was low. It doesn’t leak when idling. Only leaks when in Drive or Reverse.
Drove around the block and it hesitated everytime I would take off from a stop. It would hesitate quite a bit too long before it will drive. Also, couple times it shudders taking off at the light. And the oil leaks. Oil looks clean red oil.
Any idea?
Thank you in advance

Old 11-03-2016, 07:09 AM
smokesxt
Record Breaker
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Being low on fluid from it leaking will cause the lag when going into gear. It can also cause shuddering.
Find the source of the trans leak. If it's causing it to lose pressure, that will also cause shuddering and lag going into gear.
I'm going to say both issues are related to your leak.

Old 11-04-2016, 12:36 PM
mikebike

Thanks smokesxt.