Dodge Neon The sport compact car that took the world by storm. the Dodge Neon. Depending on the trim level you get, this sporty ride has something to offer everyone.

Question with Wheels. how do the numbers work?

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2005, 01:24 AM
pimpberetta
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question with Wheels. how do the numbers work?

Well im a newb with tires. I got p185/60r/15 on my neon. The rims are from a 2nd gen neon i believe, it actually i think looks half decent on the first gen too.

Anyways, what is a wider tire i could slip onto that rim. LIke what would the "number sequence" look like. Sorry for the neanderthal terms haha. (Ie. p195/65r/15.) i know 15 means rim size as in 15 inchs, but the rest boggles my mind. radar? lol

thanks, sean

Old 12-16-2005, 02:55 AM
gutted
Veteran
Default RE: Question with Wheels. how do the numbers work?

185/60/15 means...

185 = 185mm wide
60 = "aspect ratio" or height, which in this case is 60% of 185 or 111mm tall
15 = fits on 15 inch wheels

Old 12-18-2005, 03:29 AM
RadarLove
Record Breaker
Default RE: Question with Wheels. how do the numbers work?

If they are stock 15" alloys from a 2nd gen, then the wheels are 15x6".

The tires you have on there now I'm assuming are from the 2nd gen as well. Yeah, they take up a little more of the "dreaded wheel gap" (not even 1/2" taller overall), and they are only throwing off the speedo by about 1% or so.