Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Programmer/Chip traces

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2007, 11:38 AM
DSmith1178
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Programmer/Chip traces

Here is a stupid question, but if you are going to take in your truck for service, obviously you want to remove all possible traces of a chip/programmer. Now everybody says that those products leave traces in the computer. Im not an electronices expert at all, but I was thinking. If you disconnect battery power for 30 mins or so, doesnt the computer have to relearn everything when the batteries are connected again. Are these so called "foot prints" still stored in the system?? Oh....anybody have an idea why me Edge Attitude screen would just go blank. I can push buttons and here beeps so it has power. As soon as I turn the truck off and start it back up it works fine again.

Old 05-24-2007, 12:21 PM
CamperAndy
Rookie
Default RE: Programmer/Chip traces

Tough to answer two very different questions in one thread and keep track of things. I contacted edge about your first question as I had the same concernand they said it does not leave any data in the ECU but you may want to call and ask for yourself. You also will want to call and see about getting a new Attitude. Mine does not turn off unless I turn the key off.

Old 05-24-2007, 12:51 PM
Drew
Professional
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Edge, TST, quadzilla, Van Aaken, and other box manufacturers do not replace the ECM programming, they only manipulate the signals that are comeing from the ECM. Bullydog, superchips, Smarty, and other downloaders actualy replace the ECM programming, this is where most of the problems may arise.