Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Help! Won't take fuel off of idle.

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2007, 10:31 AM
Eldorado63
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! Won't take fuel off of idle.

Hello All,

I am a newbie in two ways. One is to a forum environment and the other is to the diesel family. I have a 2000/ 3500 / 2 wheel drive Dually/ 6 speed with 13" HD clutch. I have not done any upgrades other than the clutch to this point.
My truck laid down on me and will not take any fuel off idle. She idles perfect but when fuel is applied sounds like a coffee can full of rocks and the whole truck shakes. My mind is taking me towards the MAF but have not been able to download the code from the ECM as of yet.
Any of you fine folks have any thoughts on how to resurrect my baby?

Old 09-21-2007, 11:42 AM
Drew
Professional
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Help! Won't take fuel off of idle.

stop running the engine right now. . .infact, dont even crank it. . .your lift pump has died and you need to get it replaced.

I'm not sure if you can do this with the '00's but turn the key from off to run three times and get back with us on any codes that are displayed.

if you search a few pages back in this section you will see a thread on a sale on Fass fuel pumps. . .I would suggest you give them a hard look as well as the walbro kits from Glacier Diesel Performance.

Old 09-21-2007, 02:32 PM
Eldorado63

Drew,

Thanks for the reply. I have to borrow a reader to get the codes. Should be able to get them this weekend.
I have probably 30 minutes of idle running since this issue arose. What type of damage might I have caused by doing this?
Anything you have to offer is appreciated?

Old 09-21-2007, 03:00 PM
Drew
Professional
Received 1 Like on 1 Post