Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Air flow selector in dash malfunction

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2008, 04:20 PM
rbozeman1
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air flow selector in dash malfunction

Hello, all. Newbie here. '03 2500 Diesel HD w/ 6 spd manual, quad cab, longbed, 2wd., 80k miles. Last week the air selector switch on the dash quit working. i.e. the air only blows out of the dash vents now (no defrost or floor). Hot/cold works OK and fan speed too. Is there some reset that can be done or will this require new selector switch or diverter actuator? Any easy diagnostic?

thanks in advance.

Russ

Old 10-28-2008, 05:50 PM
garrettg84
Rookie

Common problem, its the actuator that controls that little air flap =) I've had it go out on an 01 ram 1500, as well as an 06 2500....you'd think they would do a recall...each time it sucked, they kept the truck all day claiming the entire dash needs to be ripped out. Just about every one of my friends that owned a ram 1500/2500 has had the same issue as well. In the 2500 it started out by blowing hot air when i would hit the breaks...thought it was weird as all hell, then it would just stick on hot and thats when i finally got mad enough to take it in.

Old 10-29-2008, 10:22 AM
rbozeman1

Thanks for that reply. I'll get right into it. I'm such a dolt I'll probably try it myself. Hate that $80/hr shop rate (if its still that low).

BTW, FSU--my alma mater--go Noles!

Russ

Old 10-29-2008, 10:41 AM
garrettg84
Rookie

FSU! Alright, nice to know I have some backup on here =) Should be starting my masters here next fall!

As a side note, I might mention another friend of mine did not have the actuator problem, it was the door/flap itself, supposedly cheap plastic that dry rots and snaps at its little hinge/nub. It may be worth your time to replace both at the same time.

Old 10-29-2008, 11:58 AM
D's Ram