Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Cummins upgrade?? Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010 | 01:06 AM
Twotone
|
Rookie
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Cummins upgrade?? Need Help

Hey all, Ive got a 2009 Laramie full load w/ 3.92s.

Now my Father wants the truck and Im thinking about moving into the 3500 single axle.

Now Im not sure I dig 17" wheels for starters (Ford has the 20's)
The Cummins (and yes I know the hype) is less powerful than the Ford.
Motortrend picks the Ford in they're shoot out.
Yes I like the Fords cosmetics.

SO Lol

Im a mechanic by trade however Diesel is NOT my strong point so Im quite nervous about the switch but I did take a look under the hood of a friends new 2011 F450...Got to say wow WTH is all this for??? Can't see the engine just aluminum blocks and different color fluids everywhere...Looks REAL expensive to fix...

Im not a Chevy man personally but I did look at the Denali HD...whatever next..

So If I buy the "old" 6.7 Cummins am I missing out on a technically better truck? Is Cummins going to upgrade the engine and Im left standing with last years model? Are people have problems with the DPF and EGRs on the new trucks (Like everyone I know with Semis?) Why Does Cummins offer the urea package in the cab and chassis's??

Help Im needing an education here I think before I make a 65k mistake!

Thanks

Old 08-19-2010 | 09:57 PM
Twotone
|
Rookie
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Ok did some more research on the two trucks,

Now Im a Dodge fan always have been however it seems to me that the EGR/DPF system is a real problem. It also sounds to me like Dodge it probably changing the system to the Urea injection soon to (like the 4500/5500) so whats a guy to do there??

I looked at both today at the dealerships to and they also don't spray STONE white anymore...I love my cream colored 1500. They only have Artic White.