Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

WILL NOT START ANYMORE

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2006, 12:58 PM
IMCUMMIN
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WILL NOT START ANYMORE

HEY EVERYONE, IM PRETTY NEW TO THE CTD BUT I GOT MYSELF A '99 2500 W/ 157K ON IT FOR $10,000 ABOUT A MONTH AGO SO I COULDN'T LET IT GO. HE SAID THE LIFT PUMP WAS ALREADY REPLACED AND I JUST REPLACED THE CRANK SENSOR WHEN I BOUGHT IT B/C IT DIDN'T START. ANYWAY, COMING HOME FROM WORK IT STARTED BOGGING OUT FOR A COUPLE SECONDS AND THEN SHUT OFF LIKE IT HAD NO FUEL. I WAS READING 1/8 TANK BUT I THOUGHT MAYBE IT HAS A MESSED UP SENDING UNIT. PUT 5 GALLONS OF FUEL IN AND A NEW FUEL FILTER. BUMPED THE STARTER LET IT PUMP. BUMPED IT AGAIN AND LET IT PUMP. DID THAT ABOUT 10 TIMES AND STILL WONT START. IT WHINES FOR ABOUT 20-25 SECONDS AFTER I CRANK IT SO IM STUMPED. BAD INJECTION PUMP? AIR STILL IN THE LINES? I ASSUME FUEL FILTER HOUSING IS FILLING UP BC I DRAINED IT WHEN I DID THE FILTER AND NOW I CRACKED THE VALVE AGAIN AFTER BUMPING IT ALL THOSE TIMES AND FUEL CAME OUT SO...YEA. ANY IDEAS?

Old 11-09-2006, 01:32 PM
duneschick
Professional
Default RE: WILL NOT START ANYMORE