Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

05 cummins blowby

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2007, 03:23 PM
hummergreg
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 cummins blowby

I have an 05 dually with the cummins. It only has 88000 miles on it and it just started having a lot of blowby. It will blow the oil fill cap out of your hand. I don't want to take it a part if the motor is done, but I can't imagine a cummins only lasting 88kmiles. Has anyone had a similar problem?

Old 01-27-2007, 04:30 PM
cookie_monstr
Professional
Default RE: 05 cummins blowby

no. none on my part or my uncles. might want to take it to a diesel mech and ask him a few questions and stuff.

Old 01-27-2007, 06:29 PM
NickBeek
Record Breaker

I'm no expert, so take this any way you want. Check for simple stuff first, maybe the crankcase vent is clogged of malfunctioning in some way. My $0.02 worth.

Old 01-27-2007, 07:44 PM
steve05ram360
Hall Of Fame
Received 225 Likes on 210 Posts

download the manual from the www.hemitruckclub.com site... it's on the left hand side of the page. there might be some info in there to point you in the right direction. Have you checked the owners manual to see if there is any service that might have been missed?

Old 01-27-2007, 08:35 PM
SMOKINGREY
Rookie