Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

360 1 ton RamVan time chain cover leak

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2010, 01:46 AM
1 ton dodge 360
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 360 1 ton RamVan time chain cover leak

New member here , I have a 1997 1 ton van 360 ( 5.9L LDC) w/ 85 K miles . Sprung a leak from the upper left side of the timing chain cover. I have bought a rebulit factory water pump to install and a gasket kit for the job. I have it torn down to the timing chain cover. I have pulled pulley and balance. Since I have never worked on a Dodge before I need a little advice. I was reading a thread question posted by Dodge 33 who had a similar problem, and have learned a lot by the answers and advice in that thread . Here are my questions:

1. re: replaceing timing chain in above mentioned thread . One guy said in the thread that factory timing chains are junk . Most replies stated that the chain will be shot by 150 K . So I am leaning to replace it along with the water pump even though it only has 85K on it. How long should a replacement chain last? Haynes manual says to replace when over 1/8 inch play It also says must replace both gears if replacing chain. All thoughts for or against are welcome ?

2. Tips/ advice on time chain cover replacement without removing the oil pan. Advice on how not to tear oil pan gasket . Any tricks or tips please !

3. I am not an experienced wrench on much of anything except Model A Fords ,( Oops Sorry about saying the F- word on a Dodge forum), so I anticipate running into some problems and so I thought I would open up a dialog here. Any and all tips, photos, diagrams etc, for this job will be much appreciated. . No way I can afford 100 dollar shop rates so I am going to learn to do it myself no matter what. Thanks in advance
Jeremy ( 1 ton dodge 360 )

Old 04-29-2010, 01:59 AM
landyacht318
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post