Dodge Ram The full size truck that leads the way in innovative and unique styling, the Dodge Ram. With best in class available horsepower, the Dodge Ram out runs any competitor.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Mall of Georgia

Installing transmission cooler on 2001 Dodge Ram

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2004, 12:42 PM
Newarcher
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing transmission cooler on 2001 Dodge Ram

Hey y'all.

I am new here and desperately need some help.

I am just beginning to pull a utility trailer, I live in Atlanta (hot during the summer), and I drive 35 miles one way in stop and go driving each day to work and back. Therefore, I am....no, I mean therefore, I decided to install a transmission cooler on my 2001 Dodge Ram. I just had to rebuild the entire transmission at 59,000 miles (hoo-stinking-ray for me) so it was an opportune time to put a cooler on....no sense putting one on a transmission with 100K miles.

I bought the kit and a Haynes manual (just so that I would have one). I am installing the cooler in line which is to say that I am taking the output from the radiator (post cooling) that would normally be sent back to the transmission and sending it through the cooler first. My problem is that I need to know which of the two lines coming into/out of the radiator is the correct line to tap.

My Haynes manual doesn't address it and I cannot find anything about it on the net. The only reference in Haynes is to an "Automatic Transmission Cooler Connection" that sits just above the lower radiator hose on the bottom right side of the transmission. My Dad and I differ on what that means. He says that this connecter is there to accept the hot oil from the transmission for introduction into the radiator's built in cooler. I took it to be that this connecter is where the cooled oil exits the radiator on the way back to the transmission (and therefore where you would install an in-line cooler).