Viper Hood on Ram 1500 - DodgeForum.com


Notices

Exterior Modifications Talk about your rims, body kits, and other exterior mods here.

Viper Hood on Ram 1500

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 03-02-2005, 02:18 PM
WingViper
WingViper is offline
All Star
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 802
Default Viper Hood on Ram 1500

First, I'm lookin for any pictures of a black Ram 1500 SLT with a Viper style hood, I'd like to see what those look like.
Second, can anyone fill me in on where to find a good Viper hood for a decent price?
Third, anyone know of the gains from having a functional Viper ram air hood for the 1500 Ram?
Ever since I got this truck, I just can't get it out of my head. I had a truck picked out (Chevy Colorado) to buy but then found a great price on this beauty. But I had never thought about what I would want to pick out for mods. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:58 PM
Grr287
Grr287 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 510
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500

http://www.keystonerestyling.com/

Try that and this

http://www.customclassic.com/product...dodgehoods.htm

are those the viper styles you are looking for?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:34 PM
silverback
silverback is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Covington, Washington
Posts: 46
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500

No gains. The SRT/10 hood does not feed the intake. All it does is let fresh air (and dirt and water) into the engine compartment. Don't know if anyone makes an attachment for routing for fresh air into the intake.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2005, 08:15 PM
Grr287
Grr287 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 510
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500


Quote:
ORIGINAL: silverback

No gains. The SRT/10 hood does not feed the intake. All it does is let fresh air (and dirt and water) into the engine compartment. Don't know if anyone makes an attachment for routing for fresh air into the intake.

Hope that helps.
Did i miss something???

Is this in reply to wingviper???
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2005, 08:34 PM
BadStratRT's Avatar
BadStratRT
BadStratRT is offline
The Forum Tyrant
Dodge Forum Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Puttin' Detroit City back on the map.
Posts: 27,661
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500

while working at the dodge dealership, i saw an older guy who bought a cummins ram, and bought a body kit, and made himself an SRT-Cummins (which is what his hood said, and i thought it was pretty damn cool)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2005, 12:48 AM
silverback
silverback is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Covington, Washington
Posts: 46
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Grr287


Quote:
ORIGINAL: silverback

No gains. The SRT/10 hood does not feed the intake. All it does is let fresh air (and dirt and water) into the engine compartment. Don't know if anyone makes an attachment for routing for fresh air into the intake.

Hope that helps.
Did i miss something???

Is this in reply to wingviper???
I may have to plead ignorance on this one. My original reply was based on the SRT/10 hood and it does not feed the intake. It is very possible that wingviper was referring to another hood and I was totaly wrong in my reply. If so I'm truly sorry.

We don't have to kiss and make up do we?[:'(]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2005, 04:12 PM
Grr287
Grr287 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 510
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500


Quote:
ORIGINAL: silverback


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Grr287


Quote:
ORIGINAL: silverback

No gains. The SRT/10 hood does not feed the intake. All it does is let fresh air (and dirt and water) into the engine compartment. Don't know if anyone makes an attachment for routing for fresh air into the intake.

Hope that helps.
Did i miss something???

Is this in reply to wingviper???
I may have to plead ignorance on this one. My original reply was based on the SRT/10 hood and it does not feed the intake. It is very possible that wingviper was referring to another hood and I was totaly wrong in my reply. If so I'm truly sorry.

We don't have to kiss and make up do we?[:'(]
No......i wasnt trying to be a jack*** I just didn't see how it related to the original post.

Just a simple misuderstanding.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2007, 05:00 AM
JarheadX
JarheadX is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location:
Posts: 904
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500

srt-cummings, that sounds freaking awesome
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2007, 12:15 AM
triton's Avatar
triton
triton is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NC mountains
Posts: 1,498
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500

the SRT hood does work as a Ram Air on your truck. Volant makes a CAI kit for it that connects to the hood opening.



It doesn't work on a diesel though. There isn't enough room to even custom design plumbing for it to work.

edit : geezzz... didn't realise this post was made in 05 ! Guess this might have been figured out by now [sm=confused06.gif]

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2007, 03:08 AM
JarheadX
JarheadX is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location:
Posts: 904
Default RE: Viper Hood on Ram 1500

In the spring im buying an srt-10 hoodscoop and molding it onto my hood then fabricating it to be functional, even if it doesn't, it will look pretty sick lol
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
john_2216
3rd Gen Ram Tech
6
11-09-2015 09:42 PM
BigBlueEdge
4th Gen Ram Tech
8
10-09-2015 12:54 PM
thecarlife
Dodge Viper
0
07-23-2015 03:03 AM
SaalGood
Racing Talk
0
07-10-2015 10:23 AM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.