New Member Area New to DF? Stop in tell us about yourself and your ride. Please post technical questions in the tech sections.

New Guy w/ '81 Dodge Mirada

Old 08-08-2005, 06:12 AM
thecyborgus
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Guy w/ '81 Dodge Mirada

Hello all,

My name's Justin and I'm pretty new to cars, but ready and eager to take the time to learn. I bought an 81 Dodge Mirada at the beginning of the summer. The thing is in beautiful condition and it says 94,000 miles (it's only 5 digits, but from the condition I think that it hasn't turned over yet). I want to turn this car into a decent powerhouse, without completely killing the mileage (one of my friends has a GTO that he's getting <5 mpg on right now....not what I want, lol). It is a 318 V8 with a 2bbl carb that's rated at 130 horsepower.

Well, I've had the car for around 3 months now and I've got a bunch of pics up at my website: http://www.fugitivethought.com/projects/mirada. The school year is starting up again so I won't be able to do any real work on the car for a while again, but I want to plan out what I'm going to do next summer so I can put together a budget for it and have it all ready when I actually have the time to put into it.

I figure I need headers, and most likely dual exhaust on it to decrease the exhaust pressure. I hear that can actually increase mileage a bit, and I know it boosts performance significantly from the standard exhaust manifold. Will any hooker headers for a mopar 318 work? JCWhitney's has some I was looking at. Also they have a dual exhaust kit. What do you all recommend as a good place to get these?