New Member Area New to DF? Stop in tell us about yourself and your ride. Please post technical questions in the tech sections.

Newbie from Boston

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2014, 04:37 PM
LeLimoMan
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie from Boston

Greetings from Boston!

While the calendar may say spring, winter is still holding on with a death grip. We're even suppose to get a snow storm this week. Give me a break!!!

While I'm new to the Dodge Forum, I'm not new to the Automotive scene. I've had an interest in cars since I was in college and have gone through several phases including motorcycles, big American Metal and now classic British sports cars. I currently have a collection of MGs, Rovers and Triumphs.

One offshot of this is that I have found a need for something to trailer my cars to various locations throughout New England, and while the wife has put a hold on any more cars, she has relented and allowed me to purchase a 1998 Dodge Ram 2500HD 4x4 SLT with a tow package and plow (New England, remember).

While I'd like to say I got a great truck, I will be honest and say that I purchased a truck like I do most of my cars....always in need of TLC. I am not afraid to do some work if the price is right and I've found that you can get some great deals if you are willing to put in some sweat equity.

I'm pretty good with British iron, but this is my first non-foreign purchase is almost 15 years, so I'm a little out of my depth on this one...hence my joining the DF. I have a 24 year old son who is a wiz mechanic and his friend who is a Dodge fan, so I'm not totally lost. They were actually the ones who found the truck and convinced me to buy it. It will be on their heads if this turns out to be a pile of sh*t, but I have faith in them.