A look at the new Viper GTS-R ALMS race teams - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > The DF Lounge > Racing Talk
Reload this Page > A look at the new Viper GTS-R ALMS race teams
Racing Talk Talk about any racing here, whether it be street/strip, NASCAR, F1 etc.

A look at the new Viper GTS-R ALMS race teams


Old 04-06-2012, 02:23 PM
BadStratRT's Avatar
BadStratRT is offline
The Forum Tyrant
Dodge Forum Administrator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Puttin' Detroit City back on the map.
Posts: 27,706
Default A look at the new Viper GTS-R ALMS race teams

As announced Wednesday, the 2013 SRT Viper GTS-R will come back to compete in the GT class of the American LeMans Series. When they do, these four drivers will be at the helm of the two new factory backed Viper race teams:

Dominik Farnbacher
• Born Sept. 26, 1984, in Ansbach, Germany, where he currently resides
• Competed in 2012 Rolex 24 at Daytona with TRG Motorsports
• Has seven career starts in the Rolex 24 at Daytona (2009-2012, 2005-2007)
• Won 2005 Rolex 24 at Daytona GT class alongside co-drivers Wolf Henzler, Shawn Price and Pierre Ehret
• Grew up in an auto racing family watching father Horst Farnbacher compete in Europe
• Is a four-time winner in the ALMS’ GT class
• On Sept. 14, 2011, Farnbacher established a new production-car lap record at the famous Nurburging Nordschleife by covering the 12.9-mile course in 7:12.13 seconds in a Dodge Viper ACR – shattering the previous lap record by more than two seconds

Marc Goossens
• Born Nov. 30, 1969, in Geel, Belgium
• Has 11 starts in the 24 Hours of Le Mans (1996-2003, 2008, 2010-2011)
• Competed in Formula 3000 from 1994 to 1996 and part-time in the series from 1999 through 2001
• Won 24 Hours of Zolder four times (1997, 1998, 2005 and 2007) with co-drivers Vincent Dupont and Anthony Kumpen. The event is yearly sports car and touring car endurance race held at Circuit Zolder in Belgium
• Competed in FIA GT series from 2002 through 2005
• Scored a ninth-place finish in first NASCAR Nationwide Series start at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Mexico City in 2006 driving for Robert Yates Racing
• Made his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series debut at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International in 2006

Ryan Hunter-Reay
• Born Dec. 17, 1980 in Dallas and resides in Fort Lauderdale, Florida
• Drives for Andretti Autosport in the IZOD IndyCar Series
• Has competed full-time in the IndyCar Series since 2008
• Most recent IndyCar Series victory came in 2011 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway
• Won IndyCar Rookie of the Year in 2007 (despite a limited schedule) and captured the same honor in the 2008 Indianapolis 500
• Secured first career victory at Surfers Paradise, Australia in 2003, becoming first American rookie in more than 20 years to win a Champ Car race
• Has four starts in ALMS, all in the 12 Hours of Sebring, with one win in 2011 in the LMP2 Class
• Has 16 previous starts in the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series where he scored one win and three podium finishes. Victory came in 2007 at Miller Motorsports Park in Toole, Utah where he teamed with Jim Matthews and Marc Goossens to score the victory
• Has six starts in the Rolex 24 at Daytona, all coming in the last six consecutive races. His best finish came in 2010 when he placed third
• Competed in the Toyota Atlantic Series in 2002 where he won three races and led the series in laps led and poles
• Was the 1999 Skip Barber Formula Dodge National Champion

Kuno Wittmer
• Born Sept. 6, 1982, in Pointe Claire, Canada
• In 2000, he became the youngest driver to compete in the Toyota Atlantic Championship when he was just 17 years old
• Scored six victories while competing in the SCCA World Challenge GT class in the United States from 2008-2010
• Broke the timed single-lap record at Miller Motorsports Park, Tooele, Utah, in a 2010 Dodge Viper ACR on April 11, 2011. Wittmer ran a record lap of 1:59.995 (91.444 mph average), eclipsing the 2-minute mark for the first time in a production car on the 3.048-mile road course and shattering the previous track record by close to 4 full seconds. Wittmer has also driven the same Dodge Viper ACR to single-lap production car records at Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, Fla.; Gingerman Raceway in South Haven, Mich.; Monticello Motor Club, Monticello, N.Y.; New Jersey Motorsports Park, Millville, N.J.; Road America, Elkhart Lake, Wis.; Texas World Speedway, College Station, Texas and Virginia International Raceway, Alton, Va.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:36 PM
Midnight SRT's Avatar
Midnight SRT
Midnight SRT is offline
Nightly Creeper
Dodge Forum Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tallahassee/Ft Myers, Florida
Posts: 29,502

Thanks Pat.
Reply With Quote

Related Topics
Thread Starter
Last Post
Vendor Group And Special Buys
11-10-2015 09:39 AM
3rd Gen Ram Tech
10-17-2015 07:17 PM
2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech
10-09-2015 12:58 PM
3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech
09-30-2015 02:39 AM
Dodge Viper
09-03-2015 08:39 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Get repairs made easy
Print and online manuals

Find manuals

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 AM.

  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Your question will be posted in: