Ramcharger, Trailduster & Power Wagon Grrrr!! Tough Trucks! The Dodge Ramcharger and Plymouth Trailduster were full size SUV's that had good looks and brute strength. The Dodge Power Wagon was comparable to them in toughness, but came in pickup truck form only.

help with engine upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2007, 04:09 PM
jeremybracknell
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help with engine upgrade

Hello all, I am pretty new at the Dodge thing but i just bought a 1988 Dodge Ramcharger about a month ago. when i got the thing it sounded ok ran pretty good just seemed like it needed a clutch, So i replaced the clutch in it and am having some weird noise out of the transmission but thats another thing altogether. I am a pretty good mechanic when it comes to GM stuff I have been a mechanic in the military now for about eight years and been turning wrenches for about twenty that i can remember. Well heres the problem my engine was running fine for a while but all the sudden one morning i got in my truck to go to work and i noticed a loss in power so i left it sitting for the day and drove my other vehicle to work. Wheni got home I started the Dodge and it was smoking like crazy I have no power and it is missing on the number 8 cylinder. I dont understand it was fine then just gone. It is not knocking or rattling or making any strange noise at all just no compression on number 8. So I am looking for some upgrades to do when i pull this thing to rebuild it when i return from Afganistan in about 15 months. I dont know all the option for a dodge motor so anything will help I thought about going with a carb and getting rid of the TBI I just dont know any thing you guys have please let me know. Thistruck is going to be a toy for me so it is in the mud and river beds and hill climbs all the time. Any suggestions will help. Thanks alot.

Old 12-31-2007, 05:45 AM
Crazy4x4RT
Hall Of Fame
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: help with engine upgrade