1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Well... I'm Baaaaack...P1762 HELL.

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2016, 06:16 PM
JeeperDon
All Star
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Remember in "Moonstruck", when Cher slapped Nick Cage in the face and said "Snap out of it"? This is that...

Thoughts like "I remember when..." and "too much deceit..." are "old vehicles are better..." and "I should have..." are just clogging your progress with useless mental frustration crap. Stay focused! I've been wrenching for nearly 60 years and manage just fine on my '01 D bought new, using regular shop tools, a PDF of the FSM, and common sense. It's 15 yr old tech, hardly state-of-the-art. Quit whining.

Old 08-27-2016, 12:04 AM
adukart
Record Breaker
Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts

A tool is only as good as the person operating it. You would have to really know what you're doing to detect an intermittent short like this with a scan tool. Something you could do yourself is unplug the electronics from the transmission. This will isolate whether it is electrical or not. With it unplugged you can manually shift through 1-3. You will not have overdrive since that is electronically controlled. This transmission is basically an old 727 torqueflite with an overdrive unit bolted to the rear. The valve body is slightly different with the electronics on the RE version. The RH from 94-97 only had electronics to activate the O/D didn't control any part of the shifting like the RE.

Old 08-27-2016, 09:16 AM
foamhand
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Update...