Transmission help please - DodgeForum.com


1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Transmission help please

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-23-2014, 08:03 PM
Cmckinney99's Avatar
Cmckinney99
Cmckinney99 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 100
Default Transmission help please

I dont know what trans my 1985 d150 shortbed has in it i dont know if its a 727 or a a904 do any of you guys know how to find out
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2014, 11:01 PM
xjarhead69's Avatar
xjarhead69
xjarhead69 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Leesburg, IN
Posts: 1,030
  #3  
Old 01-23-2014, 11:11 PM
moe7404
moe7404 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,041
Default

most likely a 727. dodge tened to use 727 on trucks. the shape is the give away. find a site that that has pics.. trans-go should have one. a shift kit from them is easy to put in, but do not make it to hard of a shift. if your rear end is a 7 1/4 a shift real hard WILL strip the spiders over time. i found an EXTERNAL trans filter. i have one in hopes i wont to change the internal filter as much. point of history the 1963-1964 new yorkers had one from the factory. use high pressure hose. NOT carb fuel line. chrysler trans should be using 3/8 tubing.
man o man i about forgot yes its a cut & past sorry. __________________
after you clean the trans. add this to your*chrysler*trans. an external fluid filter
1. go to auto-zone. get 2210, its called a power steering filter, but it is for transs to. it is for 3/8 tubing. by (magna-fine) be sure to use high pressure hose. Reff:http://www.magnafilter.com
2. for other sizes wix 58964 5/16 tube size
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2014, 04:21 PM
Cmckinney99's Avatar
Cmckinney99
Cmckinney99 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 100
Default

Im trying to get gelp becauee my torque converter is bad
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2014, 05:10 PM
Cmckinney99's Avatar
Cmckinney99
Cmckinney99 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 100
Default

Do you guys know how to put pictures on here im using a cell phone
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Prismatic
3rd Gen Ram Tech
8
05-03-2016 01:28 PM
master tech
Dodge Caravan
6
02-26-2016 04:21 PM
RM-D150
1st Gen Ram Tech
0
08-26-2015 01:49 AM
KitKatt
3rd Gen Ram Tech
2
08-09-2015 08:52 AM
wilfrids
Dodge Caravan
4
07-26-2015 09:35 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send