Fuel Gauge not working. - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Fuel Gauge not working.

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 02-06-2011, 01:49 PM
95neon1025's Avatar
95neon1025
95neon1025 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Harker Heights, Tx
Posts: 71
Default Fuel Gauge not working.

ok i just bought a 1995 ram like two days ago from a buddy well for the past 6 months the fuel gauge has not worked. what could i do to fix it. Info in sig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2011, 03:32 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 41,008
Default

Check the wiring at the tank, also, does the gauge test when you turn the key to start? (do the gas gauges do that trick??? I never paid attention......)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2011, 04:12 PM
Silver_Dodge's Avatar
Silver_Dodge
Silver_Dodge is offline
Grand Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,099
Default

Since it is a Ram, it will be on E most of the time anyway, so it is probably better the way it is so you don't have to see how much gas you are actually using.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2011, 04:30 PM
newman1367's Avatar
newman1367
newman1367 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 491
Default

replace the sending unit, wiring and gauge. That should do it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2011, 04:35 PM
VEETEN's Avatar
VEETEN
VEETEN is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near Charlotte, NC
Posts: 719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver_Dodge View Post
Since it is a Ram, it will be on E most of the time anyway, so it is probably better the way it is so you don't have to see how much gas you are actually using.
Thanks I just shot beer out my nose Silver.



To the OP
there was a recent thread on here recently by 95ram360 about the sending unit float hanging up on the side of the tank.
I'd try to check that first before replacing the whole unit....Cheaper too.
EDIT
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-...-question.html

His was stuck on full though..

Last edited by VEETEN; 02-06-2011 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Kodyowner
1st Gen Dakota
19
08-19-2016 08:09 AM
rampulstilskin
2nd Gen Ram Tech
14
08-19-2015 01:40 PM
Fishman2580
1st Gen Ram Tech
2
08-12-2015 10:03 PM
BrandonBuc'em
2nd Gen Ram Tech
4
07-15-2015 02:02 PM
mp2000
Dodge Caravan
0
07-07-2015 02:25 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send