Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

Repairs for P1762 and P1757 trans codes

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2010, 10:49 PM
02 Ram Van 1500
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Repairs for P1762 and P1757 trans codes

Hi,

This is my first post and I need help in solving this problem.
Hi everyone,

I own a 2002 Dodge Ram Hi-Top Conversion Van 1500 with 318 engine since day one. My family of 4 has enjoyed it as an everyday vehicle and for travelling to nearby states. I drive a 2005 Buick Rendezvous for my work car. I am a former GM mechanic from back in the 70's and always worked on cars.

I believe the trans is a 4spd, it does have lockup converter and with o/d.

Maintenance wise:
We have about 81,500 miles on it and keep the maintenance kept up but not to every detail that Dodge recommends. Can't afford everything! LOF done every 3000-3500m. Coolant was changed around 40k as well as the rear end G/O and ATF changed. Don't recall if the trans filter was changed.

Last week my wife called me to say there was a problem. She said she just finished shopping and stopped at an intersection for the light to change to green. She started to go and the engine "popped" or "backfired" and the van seemed sluggish to accelerate. The engine was running smooth. The engine felt to her like it was racing but the van wasn't moving as fast as the engine was revving. The CEL came on and stayed on. I told her to stop and check the ATF level, color, and smell it. She said it was at the full mark, red, clear, and did not have any burnt odor. I told her to not take any chances and have AAA tow it home. She didn't listen and took a slow drive home, about 10 miles.