Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

question on tune up for 05 2.4

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2013, 08:36 AM
mutant
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default question on tune up for 05 2.4

I have to admit I have never worked on a newer style dodge engine before other than to change the plugs or oil. My Girlfriend has an 05 stratus sedan with the 2.4 engine
I have changed the plugs and oil and air filter, but wanted to do a full tune up,On my my cars I know where everything is and had no problem finding what needed to be done. On this car every time I did a search online I got nothing...which brings me too here.

It does not have coil packs but what looks like a central coil for lack of a better term where the 4 wires go too the top. But the way they made it, it looks damn near impossible to get to the back screws to take the top off of it...do I even need too?
I want too do a full tune up on it, so does this motor have a cap and rotor? Where is the fuel filter, PCV valve and is there anything else I need to change or address ? Thanks in advance
The car runs really good but I want too keep it that way

Old 09-14-2013, 08:54 AM
mutant

ok so is my question really that stupid? with over a 100 views and not one reply

Old 09-14-2013, 04:40 PM
BillS
Captain

not a stupid question lot of people browse as guests ,i'll answer what I can not that familiar with the 2.4 how many miles are on car?, there is no cap(spark plug wires go on coil) or rotor electronic ignition, fuel filter is part of the fuel pump(not serviceable have to replace pump), pcv valve not sure where its located on 2.4 ,no idea about changing coil if its running good I would leave it ,might last forever or could go bad next week, only other thing I can think of that might be a concern is how many miles on timing belt

Old 09-15-2013, 09:33 AM
mutant