1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

DIY EZ HD head lamp harness upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2009, 10:01 AM
stesul411
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY EZ HD head lamp harness upgrade

OK so I'm getting old, and having a hard time driving at night. So I found this and tripled the output of my head lights of all my vehicles.

A little background, the stock lighting on most older cars with sealed beam lamps just plain sucks, and newer cars really aren't much better. Sylvania made a big leap with their Silver Star and Silver Star Plus line of replacements but, for me it still wasn't enough. I wanted to out shine the high end imports and their HID systems, and I wanted to do it cheap. I have been running this upgrade on both XJ's for over 3 years and the LHS for 6 months and the only problem I've found is it tends to burn out cheap bulbs pretty fast (as fast as 6 months), so use better bulbs.
This is a simple upgrade and can be done in a few hours and for less than 25 bucks, unless you get new bulbs.

The link is for older sealed beam or H-4 style lamps.
(Link removed)

Name:  lastscan.jpg
Views: 74
Size:  24.6 KB
NOTE ON ABOVE DRAWING: Ther e should be a 20amp fuse between relay terminal 30 and battery positive (+)

Newer cars with 9*** style bulbs can still be upgraded but you need an old bulb to make an adapter plug.

Making the adapter plug: take old bulb and wrap the glass part in a rag, break the glass with plyers (it makes a really loud pop when you do this). Break off all of the glass. Inside the bulb you will find 2 or 3 solid wires that attach to the filiment, remove the filiment, separate these wires, crimp a butt connector to each one, making sure none of the wires are touching fill the cavity in the base with silicone and let it set up for a few hours. Follow the instructions in the
above link.