1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Stupid Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2010, 01:08 AM
DakDaddy
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stupid Question

I'm new to most of this stuff and this is probably really simple. But what I'm wanting to do is install about 5 DC/Cigarette lighters in my truck for cell chargers, radar dectors etc. How would I go about this exactly? If anyone could just dumb it down for me that would be great so I won't jack anything up.

Old 10-10-2010, 01:21 AM
gladiator
Rookie

go to the store and get one of those octopus power plug adapters. these are available in 3 and 4 hole versions and i saw one recently with two USB ports.
can be messy, but can't do it wrong going this way.

Old 10-10-2010, 02:24 AM
Crazy4x4RT
Hall Of Fame
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Originally Posted by gladiator
go to the store and get one of those octopus power plug adapters. these are available in 3 and 4 hole versions and i saw one recently with two USB ports.
can be messy, but can't do it wrong going this way.
Yes they are cheep and very easy to use. Here is a pic of one. You can buy them from most auto parts stores and even Walmart.

You can buy universal ones with mounts.

I installed 3 in my truck.
1 under the dash for my XM. So I could use the stock for other stuff when needed.

1 under the rear seat in the middle. For chargers ect so I can keep it out of the way.

1 in the corner of the bed. Incase I need to run an air pump or something like that.

All of them have all time power including the stock one (Rewired it).

Here is a pic of one with a mount. Buy it from most auto parts stores.

Old 10-10-2010, 09:17 AM
DakDaddy
Rookie