1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Aftermarket Gauges?

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2012, 02:52 PM
BlakeMitchell
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aftermarket Gauges?

Well, this is my first thread/post on these forums but this seemed like the best place to post my question. My first truck is an 88 Dakota 2WD with a 3.9L and a three speed Automatic. I'm relatively new at this, so these may be stupid questions but anyway; My Dakota doesn't have gauges for the Engine Temp, or the Oil Pressure. Instead it has idiot lights, which are all well and good, but I'd just prefer to have gauges of some sort, and I'm wondering if there's some way I can install something like some Sun-pro gauges or otherwise just so I'd have the added piece of mind? Are the sensors that trigger the idiot lights something I could use for this? Or are they strictly for telling when something is definitively wrong?

Old 11-20-2012, 09:13 PM
Tom A
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

You can install aftermarket gauges. They will work independently of your idiot lights. The sending units for the warning lights won't work for gauges because they're just an on/off switch. But you can, in most cases, remove the stock switch and replace it with an aftermarket sending unit to work the gauge. Obviously, the idiot lights will no longer work if you do this.

Old 11-20-2012, 10:57 PM
keilkravec
Veteran

Another option is getting the wires and sensors for the later model cluster that has a tach and all the others. Not positive on everything you would need but thats another option that bolts right in with no modification to the cluster housing.

Old 11-21-2012, 08:21 AM
BlakeMitchell
Amateur

Thank you for answering my questions guys. Would you happen to know where the sensors are located? That would save some headache on my part.

Old 11-21-2012, 07:41 PM
keilkravec
Veteran