1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Error Code 24

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2013, 11:37 AM
CBudzinski23
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Error Code 24

Hello Dodge Forum, I've been scowering the web looking for some help with my 1995 Dakota 5.2L 4WD. Last week I was driving home and right as i started to step on the throttle My truck shut down on me. I pulled off to the side of the road and tried starting my truck and she wouldn't which was sad because she always has for me. I had my dad come give a tow to my family's shop as we own an ARCTICAT dealership. Since i am a small engine mechanic i immediately started trying to diagnose th problem. When I turn the key to on the fuel pump kicks on (most of the time) and I checked the the spark and compression of each cylinder trying to see if the problem is internal. The compression ranges from 125 psi to 145 psi throughout the cylinders which from my experience is plenty to start. All plugs are getting spark and I replaced the plugs just in case. So my problem here is that she has spark, compression, more than likely fuel, and we all know the 316 Magnums have never been short on oxygen. To make sure it wasn't a fuel problem I poured some gasoline down the Intake and tried to start. Nothing. After reading more online I learned how to check the engine codes and did so and I got 12-24-55 which I'm lead to understand that the 12 and 55 mark the beginning and end of the error codes. so I researched the 24 and found that it is a poroblem in the TPS (throttle position sensor). My problem now is I was hoping someone on here has had the same problem and could tell me how to fix it. Do I need to just simply install a new TPS? Also I have a short somewhere in my cluster light circuit as it blows the 5amp fuse immediately. Could there be something going on behind my dash causeing this whole problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.