1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Rear Axle question - Noob

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2016, 06:55 PM
jimmers07
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Axle question - Noob

I have a 96 Dakota. 7.25 axle (octagon). I need to replace the left rear axle shaft. The shaft is bent. I know that the spline count is 25. Can I use the axle shaft from a 8.25 (oval) axle? I know that the 8.25 axle has a 27 spline count. This might be a silly question, but I'm just beginning to tinker on my truck. Logically, I don't think I can, but I don't know the exact mechanics of the gears to know for sure. Thanks!

Old 06-20-2016, 09:20 PM
robertmee
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by jimmers07
I have a 96 Dakota. 7.25 axle (octagon). I need to replace the left rear axle shaft. The shaft is bent. I know that the spline count is 25. Can I use the axle shaft from a 8.25 (oval) axle? I know that the 8.25 axle has a 27 spline count. This might be a silly question, but I'm just beginning to tinker on my truck. Logically, I don't think I can, but I don't know the exact mechanics of the gears to know for sure. Thanks!
Plenty of 8.25 in the junk yards...why not do a complete swap? The wheel spacing is an inch longer and you'll have to shorten the drive shaft but the rest is plug and play and you'll have a stronger rear end. If the spline count is different then it's not going to slide into the ring gear would be my guess.

Old 06-21-2016, 11:34 AM
jimmers07

Originally Posted by robertmee
Plenty of 8.25 in the junk yards...why not do a complete swap? The wheel spacing is an inch longer and you'll have to shorten the drive shaft but the rest is plug and play and you'll have a stronger rear end. If the spline count is different then it's not going to slide into the ring gear would be my guess.
Thanks. I'll look into doing a complete swap. Let the research begin!

Old 06-21-2016, 11:18 PM