1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

88 Dakota 289 - clean and simple - Bypassing some vacuum and electrical

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2020, 08:53 PM
88Dakotaracecar
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 88 Dakota 289 - clean and simple - Bypassing some vacuum and electrical

I picked up this 88 Dakota and I’m wanting to take it back to the stone age with what’s already in it. Smog pump, charcoal can, most vacuum lines, factory air cleaner housing, all gone. I want to eliminate the iac and fab a manual throttle spring stop like a carb.

emissions don’t matter. I come from a history of carb’d trucks and cars and I want this truck to look as simple as possible under the hood and run strong. I read here the coolant temp sensor controls fuel delivery so maybe I can trick that sensor or the iac into doing what I want. I have been a certified mechanic for several years but now in a diff career field So I don’t do it everyday anymore.

with that said I’m getting this surging at idle and it stalls at stop lights. When I throttle it from the tbi it spools up well.

eventually I’ll open up the exhaust and convert it to electric cooling fans like the Shelby Dakotas of the same era but need to be able to make a 2 mile beer run without stalling first. Anybody with any pertinent suggestings, procedures to get what I’m going for I could def use your insight.

(This all started with the removal of an old unused and unsightly alarm system and a spare tire that was dry rotten and flat and spiraled out of control from there lol)

lastly the 3 2 pin pigtails that plug into vacuum sensors (3 sensors each with 3 vacuum nipples)
Can I block those nips off, reroute to achieve desired results, trick those sensors with a resistor or jumper wire or something similar since smog and egr and evap have all been removed?

Old 03-28-2020, 09:12 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator