1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Evaporator core and heater core

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2021, 07:56 AM
jrbaker40
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Evaporator core and heater core

I recently purchased an ‘87 Dakota. I’m completely new to working on my car however I can follow directions pretty well (especially with pictures and videos). I haven’t seen any on my ‘87 Dakota that shows how to replace the evaporator core. While I’m in the box I’d like to just replace all the parts, they are 34 years old and not working well. Does anyone have any videos or pictures of the process to get the box out of the truck so I can replace these? Thank you

Old 07-19-2021, 04:21 PM
RalphP
Champion
Received 372 Likes on 343 Posts

You're in luck!

The boxes didn't change worth mentioning from 1987 to 1996 (around 1990 they added a sensor in the evap coils, and dropped the vacuum tubing to activate the heater control valve - which shuts the heater off on recirculate, so not a big deal).

I say that because both the 1995 and the 1996 factory service manuals are here available for download.

It has drawings, which can do for the pictures.

And you're right, I'd replace ALL of that, including the blower motor, while it's open.

Oh, wait, I DID replace all that last time I was in.

I used some blue 1/8" silicon vacuum hose to replace that old brittle hard line into the engine bay; I used a pair of Adel clamps to hold them in place also.

I don't have many pictures of that, though ... since I was working from the FSM for my 1988. (Hint: Bishko shows it still in stock paper and disc for a 1987; paper i$ expen$ive for my ta$te$, but the disc is handy especially if you have a PDF viewer that lets you notate)

But a quick overview -

Remove the heater hoses inside the engine bay.