1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

might by new truck please help

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2006, 12:46 AM
thekid
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default might by new truck please help

hi im new to dodges but im looking at bying a 1990 dakota with a v6 it 2 wheel drive. dont if anythings been rebuilt or not it has 143,000 on it the guys says its mostly highwya but im not sure. i just dont want to have to put a lot of money in to it right away . is that a lot of miles for this truck . thanks

Old 10-02-2006, 02:10 AM
dodgerules86
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: might by new truck please help

First, welcome to the forum.

To answer a few of your questions:
These trucks are good. They are also reliable.
About the miles: most cars see around 12,000 to 16,000 miles per year. In 16 years, that would be 192,000 to 256,000 miles. Your truck saw, on average, around 9,000 miles per year. Not bad.
The engines in these trucks are usually reliable, as well. You can go here and check out what other people have for mileage on theirs.
Of course, like anything else, the reliability depends on how well it was maintained. If the owner was always overdue for oil changes and such, you might inherit some problems.