1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

What's it worth - looking to buy 98 SLT

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2008, 11:35 AM
two4trippn
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's it worth - looking to buy 98 SLT

Newbie here - last Dodge was 97 Intrepid that I sold last year with 250K and still going strong. I found a 98 Durango SLT 5.2L w/150K and I'm curious what to look for in the test drive and overall pros & cons. Started right up, went into gear just fine, exhaust might need some attention towards the front end. Brakes were a tad grabby in the parking lot, not a major concern ,easiest thing for me do repair myself I guess if needed. Body 7 out of 10, interior 9 out of 10, mostly rear wheel well and two spots by window trim - lift door is great.Tires are 60% shot, but I've got 4BN Goodyear Wranglers in the garage.Radio was powered on and receiving signals but no sound output??? Blower motor sounds good at all speeds, unsure about the a/c, its Jan in Buffalo for crying out loud. I'm guessing the 5.2L to get 14mpg average if I'm lucky, after a tune up and air filter tweaks. I'm heading back tomorrow for a run around the block (no plates) - attempting to get for under $2000. Any help is appreciated.

Chris

Old 01-29-2008, 02:56 PM
deerang
All Star
Default RE: What's it worth - looking to buy 98 SLT

2G is a great deal... the brakes on mine are always grabby, especially when they are cold... after the test drive look for leaks, and check fluid colour and levels...

Old 01-29-2008, 05:56 PM
two4trippn

We might be talking about a completely new exhaust system. The passenger side seems shot up near the manifold and I'm told I might be look at replacing the cats too (4 of them?)

Old 01-29-2008, 07:14 PM
deerang
All Star

4 cats? it must be a cali car... I heard that some Daks from cali were given 4 cats... I would get a muffler shop to build a new exhaust w/ one cat (aftermarket high flow)...