1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

headers on stock system?

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2008, 07:58 PM
mrwilliwizard
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default headers on stock system?

i have a 2001 dodge durango slt 4x4 and i have a k&n cai and a flowmaster super 40 muffler if i get headers will i see any power gains ? cause the rest of my piping is stock underneath just the mufflers changed.

thanks.

Old 06-02-2008, 10:28 AM
Kensai
Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: headers on stock system?

I think it is recommended that you change out the what we call the "y" pipe. Basically the pipes that come off the exhaust manifold and join into a single pipe and then run to the cat. It has been reported that this "y" pipe is the main restriction as the pipe is said to be around 2 inches in diameter. I think some performance shops sell this replacement "Y" pipe with sizes at 2.5 inches or even 3 inches.

If you go true duals, then this "Y" pipe will be eliminated.

Old 06-02-2008, 10:55 AM
hydrashocker
Hall Of Fame
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

I would replace everything from the Y pipe to the exhaust tip in 3". MagnaFlow makes a Y pipe at 3" for this install before the headers are installed. Youshould get this done first.

Yes you will see power gains in horse power but might loose some torque. There is a lot of heat generated from header installs that cause cracking of wires over time as well as manifold gaskets being blown in some instances. I don't recomend them unless super chargers are installed.

Each to their own tho.

Old 06-02-2008, 11:04 AM
Kensai
Champion

+2