1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

"Squeeky" front end?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2010, 11:58 PM
Growlor
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Squeeky" front end?

Hi all, I have been driving my in-law's 2001 Durango for a couple of months (he was nice enough to loan me their spare vehicle while I save my pennies after the lease on my Dakota ended recently.)
I have been doing my best to make sure the things goes back to him in at least as good/better condition than when he loaned it to me (ie changed the oil, replaced the windshield washers, asked him for the recall notice slips so I can have any of them done, etc) However, I have recently noticed loud "squeeking" from the front-end when going-over speed bumps near my house. My guess is with 73K miles on it that maybe the shocks are wearing out? I can reproduce the sound just by pushing down on the front bumper with it parked, but can't tell for sure where the sound is coming from. Any idea how much a diagnosis/replacement set of shocks would run me either from the dealer or a major repair chain? Any other ideas about what could be going-on?

Thanks,
Growlor

Old 04-13-2010, 12:35 AM
IndyDurango
Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Most likely the sway bar bushings. Grease them as best you can or replace and grease the new ones.

HTH,

IndyDurango

Old 04-13-2010, 01:59 PM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD
Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

+1 on what indy said, probably the sway bar bushing, but at 73k your shocks could very well be gone, id replace them anyway but thats just me

Old 04-13-2010, 09:35 PM
redfernclan
Rookie