1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Blocks or Shackles?

Old 10-17-2011, 08:09 PM
GOTBENCH
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Blocks or Shackles?

I have a 2001 durango sport and I am wanting to lift it and get some bigger tires. I was told to crank the tortion bars up front but not to use shackles because the back will sway back and forth. I was told to use blocks instead. Also I was told to use spacers in front springs instead of tortion crank. All I want to do is get some 33" tires under there on my factory rims for now. I'm new to the durango as before I was a wrangler man. What is the best way to go and the cheapest to get me up in the air again?

Old 10-17-2011, 10:12 PM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD
Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

if you have a 4x4 you dont have coil springs in the front cranking the t-bars is the best option (the alternative is a body lift), and everyone on this forum who has lifted their trucks has gone with shackles, they are usually sold as drop shackles for a cheby, but they lift a dodge (it has to do with how the leaf springs are bolted to the frame).

if you want the best information you want to talk to member by the name duranged408 for information on lifts.

Old 10-17-2011, 11:22 PM
IndyDurango
Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Blocks lower the vehicle.

Old 10-18-2011, 12:14 AM
GOTBENCH
Default blocks or shackles

Actually it all depends how you install the blocks. If you install them below the leaf spring it will raise the truck. Install them on top of leaf spring lowers it.

Old 10-18-2011, 12:36 AM
IndyDurango
Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

And if you drive around backwards you will always see where you have been.

TRADITIONALLY on the Durango, since this is a Durango forum section, blocks are used on our vehicles to lower the truck.

Old 10-18-2011, 12:45 AM
97redbeast