Wrung Bolt on T-stat Housing

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2012, 10:07 PM
HappyHillbilly
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wrung Bolt on T-stat Housing

2002 Durango SLT 2WD
4.7L Engine

I wrung off the bottom bolt on the T-stat housing while replacing thermostat & water pump. I tried drilling a hole in the bolt & using an extractor but the hole I drilled in the broken bolt ended up going off-center and the extractor catches on the engine block at the edge of the threads.

Though it's hard to see due to it's location, it appears that the bolt is broken off just inside the threaded hole, leaving just a tad bit of a recess that could be used to drill the bolt & bolt-hole threads out for a helicoil. I've never used/installed a helicoil before but many moons ago I used to be a machinist and I'm mechanically inclined (except for this bonehead bolt-wringing incident).

Anyone have any advice, tips and/or tricks to share with me?

Thanks for your time!

Have a good one!
HH

Old 02-22-2012, 11:14 PM
samnbensdad
Captain

I think helicoils at great. I've used then a few times. I even used one on my wife's VW motor mount bracket... Still holding torque nearly a year later. They at not too difficult to install.

Old 02-25-2012, 11:56 PM
lbzrango
Rookie

Same problem happened to mine, and i tried what you did. didnt work took it to some shop and 100$ later they had it fixed.

Old 02-26-2012, 08:39 PM
HappyHillbilly

Thanks for the replies, folks!

Due to lack of time I just got this job finished yesterday (Saturday). As mentioned in my first post, the hole I drilled into the broken bolt ended up drifting off-center, making the hole halfway in the bolt & halfway into what I first thought was the engine block, but fortunately was the timing chain cover, instead.