1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

engine rebuild, mild performance incease, lots of questions?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2013, 08:31 PM
heekma
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine rebuild, mild performance incease, lots of questions?

Howdy folks,

I can do simple stuff like brakes, plugs, sensors-even a water pump-but an engine rebuild is so far away from my limited knowledge I may as well be talking theoretical physics. Hell, I do 3D animation for a living, I'm not a mechanic!

I have a 2000 R/T that I've sunk more money into than I care to admit. At this point, it's beyond driving my money back out of it, it's about being in for a penny, in for a pound.

The motor is fine, but within the next couple months I'd like to have it rebuilt. After that I'll have a 12-year-old truck as good as new.

Here are my questions, I'd be in your debt if you'd help me out.

A local machine shop (Dallas, TX) with a stellar reputation will do a long-block rebuild for @ $1,500.

What I've learned is that includes tearing the motor apart, cleaning, checking clearances, reusing what's still in spec. As long as the pistons, rings and cylinder walls agree with each other, mostly bearings will be replaced as well as gaskets. Have I got that right?

Next, I'd like a modest performance increase. It seems the smart money is spent on a single-plane manifold and headers-let the motor breathe. Heads can help, but at significant cost, and frankly I'm not trying to make a beast, just want to gain a little oomph if I'm rebuilding the motor.

And that's it. I figure if I'm gonna spend $1,500 (at least!) On a rebuild, I'd like to get the most reasonable bang for the buck in terms of modest performance increases while I'm at it.

Any and all help would be very much appreciated. This is uncharted territory for me and I'd prefer to do this once, have a modest boost in performance and drive the wheels off this Durango.

Best,

Heekma

Old 02-12-2013, 02:48 PM
Rawyzf
Professional