1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

New member here

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2014, 12:43 PM
stickbow9
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member here

Sorry I posted a question before introducing myself. I have been reading this site for several years now and have found myself learning almost everything I need to feel comfortable doing most all of my own work on my rig. (or diagnosing it anyways). I have a 2003 SXT with 130,000 miles that I have owned since 23,000. This is a great rig, and I have tried my best to maintain it well to this point. I have done the front ball joints, shocks, alignment, rear calipers and brakes all the way around, oil pressure switch, and plugs. Under warranty it got a new radiator and water pump. Plan on doing the front calipers, plugs again, differential fluids, t-case fluids, transmission filters and flush, and various other stuff. I am not a mechanically inclined guy but I am an electrician and get the concepts of the work. This site has definitely both educated and encouraged me to attempt more.
Maybe I can get this rig over 200,000 without much headache. I look forward to reading more in the future.
Zach

Old 05-21-2014, 01:45 PM
majerus
Rookie

I found mine at a junk yard, it was treated like crap and is very close to 200k. Change the fluids and it will last. What motor do you have?

Old 05-21-2014, 04:37 PM
Old_School
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

DON'T FLUSH THE TRANSMISSION! unless of course you enjoy spending a ton of money on a new one.. just change the fluid/filter(s) and be done.. A purge where they hook it to a machine and pump out the old while putting in new is okay as well but, shops don't usually change the filter(s) using that method.

Old 05-21-2014, 05:58 PM
stickbow9