1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Question for Master Dodge Technicians....

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2014, 05:59 AM
foamhand
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Question for Master Dodge Technicians....

How long is the longest it's taken you to diagnose a serious NO BUS issue that was something other than the PCM?

It's going on 3 weeks that the local Dodge service center has had my Durango (not counting the 10 days to get exchange PCM's shipped) and they still haven't found the problem.

Also, is using a running vehicle to swap parts for diagnostic purposes a common thing for service centers to do or are they getting desperate?

I'm a licensed amateur (HAM) radio operator and know that these days it's more common for many radio repair centers to just swap circuit boards rather than get the DVOM out, roll up their sleeves and actually do circuit testing like they did in the old days. I suspect the same goes on in the auto industry.

It seems that a good diagnostician could have checked every wiring connection in the entire vehicle in 3 weeks.

I'm just concerned that I may be dealing with parts swappers and not true diagnosticians, and maybe it's time to contact another repair center.

Replys are appreciated.

foamhand.

Old 11-16-2014, 08:09 PM
kissmymagnum
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts