1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

I am going to try to fix my transmission

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2017, 03:02 PM
Karx
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I am going to try to fix my transmission

After a shop quoted me over 4 grand to fix my transmission ive been walking everywhere for a few months now, i changed the heater core myself awhile back and so im gunna try to fix this thing myself. Big Bertha is a 2000 5.9 v8 slt, if somebody out there could send me everything i need to know about transmissions or at least send me to a place where i could read/learn it all myself it would be greatly appreciated, thx.

Old 07-18-2017, 07:25 PM
JeeperDon
All Star
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

I'd start with a different shop. A place here quoted me $2,200 for a rebuild with stock parts. Because I tow 6,000 lbs on occasion at altitude, I opted with better TC and kevlar bands for $3,200. I've had 20+ family vehicles over the years, yet only had to mess with a dead auto trans twice. It's not worth it to do myself.

Old 07-19-2017, 01:41 AM
Karx
Amateur

Originally Posted by JeeperDon
I'd start with a different shop. A place here quoted me $2,200 for a rebuild with stock parts. Because I tow 6,000 lbs on occasion at altitude, I opted with better TC and kevlar bands for $3,200. I've had 20+ family vehicles over the years, yet only had to mess with a dead auto trans twice. It's not worth it to do myself.
That makes it sound like its going to be really hard to do, i want to learn how. I really appreciate you always getting back to me jeeper don especially when i ask some dumb questions but what is the first thing that i need to kno about fixing my transmission???

Old 07-19-2017, 04:21 AM
Karx
Amateur
Default what will happen if i put a transmission from a 4.7 ltr engine into my 5.9 ltr engine