1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Shifter linkage issues - please help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2017, 03:47 AM
99RangoBC
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Shifter linkage issues - please help!

Okay, so this may be a bit of a long winded explanation, but here goes. I recently purchased a 99 Durango 5.9, with a 46RE, and have been driving it for about two months. I'm a second-year apprentice, and don't know much about automatic transmissions to begin with. I'm learning as I go.

About a week and a half ago I started to notice that the truck was hanging on to first gear a bit longer than I would like, shifting into second around 35 to 40 km an hour at roughly 3000 RPM. I didn't know when the fluid and filter has been changed last, so I changed the filter, refilled it to capacity and flushed the system.

I took it for a test drive, and it still did the same thing. So I did more research and came across a lot of discussion on forums regarding the TV cable, and how to adjust it. I made a minor adjustment, and noticed a bit of a difference, but decided to go ahead and replace a few other sensors to eliminate them as potential culprits. I replaced my throttle position sensor, my transmission output shaft speed sensor, and my vehicle speed sensor, above my rear differential. I also had future plans to replace the governor pressure solenoid and sensor, but didn't learn about those until after I had already dropped the pan and changed the fluid and filter.

I took it for another test drive and it seemed a bit better, and after a few more adjustments to the TV cable it seemed to be shifting fine.