1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

97 Neon Doggy off the line

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2006, 12:49 AM
Sasquatch316
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 Neon Doggy off the line

My 97 Plymouth neon is a real dog off the line. Just seems gutless, once it gets up in rpm it pulls great and seems to have decent power for a 4 banger. It previously broke the timing belt which is why I bougt it for a fixer uper. Did all the valves, timing belt, idlers and tensioner, and all new gaskets/seals from the head out. Idle is smooth and throttle responce is fine. Friend thinks I may have the one of the cams retarded a little bit, but I sincerely doubt it, I tripple checked the cam timing. It's got the automatic so I'm guessing that's part of the reason it's a little gutless from zero. I'm new to 4 cylinder cars so I don't expect it to run that good, but my buddies 1.9L saturn (standard trans) will spank the **** out of my neon... So mainly the question is are all the auto neons a little lacking in the power department off the line in stock coniguration, or do I have something messed up?

Thanks in advance...

Old 03-29-2006, 02:02 AM
FuzzRacer
Captain
Default RE: 97 Neon Doggy off the line

Do you have a dohc or sohc ? The Dohc has 150 stock( suppose to) I forget what the Sohc has but its not 150. getting spanked by that saturn had to suck. but back to your question, I think the neons are a little sluggish when it comes to line launching, I wondered that same thing my self and started looking into mods to fix it. for one there is a weight issue. all neons don't weigh the same, mine is heavy and pisses me off, thats why this summer when I get rims im going to get light weight ones, you could invest in pulley, autobody valve those would help out don't underestimate a 4 cylinder, especially a neon. If you set your car up right, you can really kick some tale, simply putting on a turbo can kick some tale, look at the SRT-4 that has hella power and its only a 4 cyl