1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1980 Dodge D150 cuts out when accelerating

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2017, 01:08 PM
80dodgeD150
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1980 Dodge D150 cuts out when accelerating

Hello,
I am new to this so I'll try hard not to screw it up. I recently purchased a 1980 Dodge d150 2wd with a 318. I am by no means a mechanic so here's my issue. It has a 2 barrle Holley carb that I have done a rebuild kit on leas then a month ago. I've also replaced the fuel pump,fuel filter, plugs and wires, distributor cap and rotor along with new air cleaner and fresh oil change. It's starts just fine and after it warms up idels good. But when you give it gas it cuts out or straight up dies. And the accelerator pump is new and hooked up right. All of the vacuum lines seem to be fine and not leaking. The exhaust manifold does leak a little so I'm not sure if that's the issue. Ive done all that I can think of and would appreciate any advice.

Thank you

Old 04-27-2017, 06:42 AM
Moparite
Grand Champion
Received 347 Likes on 327 Posts

Does this happen only when it's been running for a while or not? What about the choke? Is it hooked up and working? Does theaccelerator pump squirt adequate fuel when you move the throttle?

Old 04-27-2017, 08:12 AM
Noelie84
Rookie

I'd suspect ignition for those symptoms, actually, rather than fuel. I'm assuming that your truck doesn't have that stupid Electronic Spark Control computer, correct? If not, I would suggest
1) Check the ignition timing
2) Check that the vacuum system for the spark advance is working correctly