1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1985 d250 ignition system

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2018, 07:35 PM
emcbron
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 d250 ignition system

Hey all,

So I'm working rewiring my d250. It's my first project like this and I've gotten a little mucked down in the ignition system.

As far as I can tell there isn't any type of ignition control module or anything. I initially mistakenly identified the voltage regulator as the ignition module. There is something small below the distributor cap that is connected to the capacitor(?). Could that be it? I can't really identify it and I'm no expert on this. Also there doesn't seem to be the correct amount of wirescoming from the distributor. Other that what is coming from the cap there is only one wirecoming out and it is connected to the coil. I could rewire it but all the diagram I can find have usually 3 wires coming from the distributor. Other info: it has a starter relay that was completely disconnected and a 4 prong ballast resistor. Those shouldn't be hard to figure out though if I can figure out the ignition module/distributor.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Old 07-07-2018, 08:39 PM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

can you post some pics of under the hood. a 85 shouldn't have a 4 wire ballast resister. it should only have a 2 wire resister. it should have a 4 wire ignition module as long as it didn't have the lean burn ignition system
this is how the ignition system on your truck should be wired if it is stock

Old 07-07-2018, 09:39 PM
emcbron