1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Need a new radiator, any upgrades available?

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2012, 05:26 PM
Arcaporale
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need a new radiator, any upgrades available?

Fushed my radiator not too long ago and had nothing but rust water comin out of it. My truck still seems to run on the warm side. I have a new 195 degree thermostat, no leaks and a good heater core. The radiator and water pump was replaced about 8 years and 10,000 miles ago, but sat idle in the drive way for most of that time.

Now my engine temp seems to be directly proportional to outside temp. I did an efan swap awhile ago which helped a lot but am still having trouble keeping my engine temp stable. Just today cruising on the freeway at 70 mph my engine temp was at around 3/4 mark. It was 92 degrees outside and and I had my fan running full blast on the freeway with the AC on. If its cold outside it will usually stay at around 1/4 to 1/2 mark and the fan barely needs to run.

I want to do a radiator swap but am wondering if there are any mods or radiator upgrades any one has done for their Dakota. Mines a 1992 5.2 4x4.

Old 09-30-2012, 06:35 PM
Shelbyfan
Professional

Take your radiator to a reputable radiator shop and have it flow tested, my local one did it for free. Mine was doing the exact same thing. I replaced everything, including the radiator about 15k previously. Turned out to be a super high concentration of calcium in the tap water I was using.

If you have an all metal radiator get it recored if possible, the new ones are plastic housings and I have talked to a few radiator shops and they all say the plastic tanks are not nearly as reliable as the metal.

Old 09-30-2012, 10:38 PM
Crazy4x4RT
Hall Of Fame
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Some places specify the radiator is single core/row. Get double core if yours isn't already.