2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Brake Line issue

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2008, 10:18 PM
dmo1798
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Line issue

Hello everybody. I was pulling into my neighborhood yesterday and the pedal went straight to the floor as I hit the brakes. When I got home I noticed a puddle under the cab. Got down there to investigate and found that the metal brake line had split open between the gas tank and the cab. I went onto the auto parts websites and they only have the rubber hose for the front and rear of the line. Searched the web and didn't see anything about it. Anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks, yes I am a noob.

Old 07-20-2008, 11:23 PM
moe7404
Record Breaker
Default RE: Brake Line issue

moe in wichita ks
to repair steel break lines you need to know a few things. first use ONLY steel tubing made for break lines. all flairs MUST be double flairs. use a flairing tool made for double flairs. dont forget to put the nut on before flairing. all bends must not have any kinks this means using a bending tool. put a small amount of anti-sieze compond on the nut threads and on the tubing under the nut. in 30k miles you will thank me.
here is a list of tools you need
1 tubing cutter
2 flairing tool double flair
3 bending tool
4 tubing wrinchs must have
5 anti-sieze compond

Old 07-21-2008, 12:21 AM
300exoh
Rookie
Default RE: Brake Line issue